Evolution

It’s funny with baby nicknames- how they form and evolve. Before the baby was before I often referred to her as The Nugget and The Widget. Once she was born these were immediately shortened to “nuggie” and “widgie” and with time underwent further modifications creating such appellations as: nuggetine (Jean Georges ref, yo), Widge, Widgerd, Nuggybear, Widgeridoo, (s)Nugglebird, and The Nug Bug (or just simply ‘The Bug’). It’s interesting too to see which ones resonate with whom. Mike was pretty keen on Nugglebird/Snugglebird, while ‘The Nug Bug’ really caught on with my mom.

When we moved on to nicknames 2.0 (Boobaloo) it quickly expanded to include: Boobaloo shoes, boodaboo, Boogaloo, Bugaloo (from Sid & Marty Krofft’s show of the same name) and resting most popularly on: ‘Bulu’ (me) and ‘Boobles’ (Mike).

I will say that we DO actually call her by her real name with enough frequency that she actually recognizes it and will turn around when called. Many times during her thrice-daily dining experiences I can be heard repeating “Virginia Grey, look at me” or “Miss Virginia! Open your mouth please.”

She is just too cute for one nickname- what can I say?

Nothing more, clearly. Wait- how about some facts…

At her 6 month check-up the bug weighed 21.1 lbs, measured 28.5 inches and was given the okay to start yogurt, water, and juice! She also got two ow-ees in one leg and one ow-ee (H1N1) in the other.

I had originally thought I was not going to do the swine flu vaccine but my doc persuaded me- as I had not factored in the international air travel we would be doing. He said he had not seen any negative reactions to the vaccine but that he HAD seen swine flu in kids and wouldn’t recommend it. So I relented. As with everything, she took it like a pro. No adverse reactions to any of her shots other than some mild muscle soreness 2 days later.

Okay- now you’re almost all caught up. I will try and be more regular with updates now that the “holidays” (of which I celebrate exactly ONE) are over!

Leave a Reply

