Cereal for Dinner

Mike warned me today that we can’t have cereal for dinner TWO nights in a row.

Last night was a busy night. I had two batches of babyfood to make, plus the bug needed a bath and frankly, so did her parents. The baby likes a lot of attention (and usually boobs) immediately following a bath so I can’t take a shower right after, and it’s hard to do right before because she can get fussy while waiting, or else my bangs dry stupid while I am washing her. It also made sense to give Virginia her dinner before her bath. I even let her “go bib-less” since she tugs on her bib the whole time and mashes it into her face anyway. This meant that her neck folds got an unadulterated dose of rice cereal applied to them and made her imminent bath ultra necessary. It was Mike’s turn to host the bath. I helped with the shampooing, and was on drying/diapering/wizard gear duty. She is outgrowing her wizard gear!

Mike immediately transitioned into his shower, while I readied the baby for snuggles on the bathroom floor. Then we moved to the living room for ultimate night time power nurse. When she was whispers away from sleep I brought her back into the bedroom to remove the wizard vestments and put her into something jammy-like. This, of course, woke her back up and she was in a really giggly mood. Mike came in holding a moldy piece of bread, in response to my suggestion that we just have PB & J’s for dinner.

“Fine. Bowls of cereal then.”

I read her Goodnight Moon, pointing out different elements of the room, gave her her sleep rag and a pacifier, kissed her goodnight and left the room. I took my shower, dried my hair, checked on Mike, and could hear the baby still chatting away to herself. I looked in to find her grabbing her feet and trying to eat my pillow. We re-inserted the pacifier a few times, killed the lights and left again. She was finally asleep.

I put the last of the pureed baby vegetables into cubes and loaded them into the freezer. I heated a whole bunch of fake-chicken nuggets and ate them on the couch with Mike. We watched Frontline. I was in bed by 10:30. Mike joined us an hour later. Sigh.

Good sleep though. I have decided not to fight with Virginia in the middle of the night about nighttime feedings. Yes. I know she is “capable” of sleeping through the night but I refuse to Ferberize and can’t be bothered with the ‘No Cry Sleep Solution’ since, from the little I’ve read, it sounds more like the NO SLEEP, ‘WHY IS MOM CRYING?’ SOLUTION. Instead, she wakes up hungry at 3am and 6am and I nurse her. We are both back to sleep in 10-20 minutes. Sure beats the two of us trying to console her for 2 hours in the middle of night until we’re all in terrible moods and I end up just nursing her anyway. It works for me. She is not going to be a baby forever. Soon she’ll be eating pizza and drinking juice and won’t want to wake up to cuddle with mama every 4 hours.

One response to “Cereal for Dinner

  1. I LOVE this picture!
    I would totally give in to her maximum cuteness at 3 a.m. and 6 a.m. Enjoy the cuddles.

Leave a Reply

