Tough night for nuggies

So, I’ve mentioned that the nug has had a stuffy nose for a while, and when she was last at the doc, he recommended this thing.

It’s a nosefrida! A snotsucking device from Sweden that allows a mom (or anyone else willing to stick this thing in their mouth) to suck mucus from a suffering baby. From the reviews I read on Amazon and elsewhere, parents seem to swear by this thing; and since it doesn’t involve jamming the tiny nozzle of a bulb syringe up a squirming infant’s wee nostril, I was eager to try it.

The American website for the Nosefrida says that it is sold at Whole Foods so I held off on ordering it from Amazon and thought I’d just pick it up at the Columbus Circle Whole Foods on my lunch hour. FAIL! Not only did they not have it but the two West Indian ‘Whole Body’ employees I asked insulted the device and said I should just “do it naturally” and suck the snot out of her nose myself. Sorry! Squeamish white person up in here! Don’t really feel that exchanging bodily fluids in non-life-or-death scenarios is necessary (sex excluded). I mean, snake venom? I would obviously suck that out of the baby. Mouth to mouth resusitation? With pleasure. But just run-of-the-mill nose cleaning? I think Virginia might actually lose respect for me.

Anyway- because I was unable to procure this device last night the nuggie’s mucus situation escalated and now she has a wet sounding cough and could barely sleep. I cursed Whole Foods as I sat up in bed all night, cradling the wee widge in an upright position to allow for better drainage.

I dropped her off at my mom’s this morning, imploring Grammy to please make it their mission today to find this &^%$’in thing and buy it.

2 responses to “Tough night for nuggies

  1. Hey there, sorry you couldn’t find Nosefrida at WF in NY, but don’t despair, it is available at lots of smaller pharmacies in the city near you: Z Chemist 40 W 57 St, Zitomer’s Madison/76th St, MetroMinis Park Ave/74th St, TherapieNY 309 Columbus Ave, Cherry’s Children’s Pharmacy 207 E 66th St. In addition you have Bigelow’s, KidsRX, Metro Drugs, Pasteur, Thompson and many more places, check our website for locations http://www.nosefrida.com/locations.html
    or contact us! You will LOVE Nosefrida and it will save you many sleepless nights, we promise!
    Good luck, let us know how it goes.
    Kaisa & Sarah
    Nosefrida

Leave a Reply

