Some pictures…

Here are some pictures from my shower in the Evelyn Nesbitt Room at Lady Mendl’s Tea Salon.

Joanie & Lila

Joanie & Lila


Joanie was the first non-family member to arrive!

My girls!

My girls!


But soon I was surrounded by my favorite ladies (the Curran sisters, Katie, and Saira hadn’t shown up yet)

Kim eats!

Kim eats!


After a champagne cocktail or two, it was time to take our seats for the 5-course high tea service, which started with a mixed green salad with fresh strawberries and got blissfully CARB-y after that.

During moms toast ...

During mom's toast ...


After the mini sandwiches, and the scones with clotted cream and jam, came the crepe cake, and finally the wee cookies and chocolate-covered strawberries. YUM.

My mom and I had designed these little cards at each place setting inviting guests to vote on a few names we’ve been kicking around as well as supply suggestions of *their* favorite names. Once the cards were collected, I stood to read the highlights to the group. I hadn’t really expected the afternoon to include much public speaking and found myself wishing I could have drank more (*gulp*) but it went fine, and it was fun sharing all the cards with Mike later that afternoon at home.

A very Canadian sweater...

A very Canadian sweater...


After the ‘Reading of the Names’ – came the ‘Opening of the Gifts’!

The Lorax. A gift from Sandra

The Lorax. A gift from Sandra

I got so many wonderful things! It’s become very apparent that we’ll need more ‘baby storage’ in our room so I’m afraid a trip to Ikea might be inevitable. Maybe on Mother’s Day! Whoopee!

Leave a Reply

