The fetus who partied

To celebrate our entrance into the second trimester the baby and I shared a glass of wine and shot a gun. That’s okay, right?

Earlier in the day, my mom came and met me at the doc for my second ultrasound and this one was so much more exciting than the first! I had read that at this stage your baby will respond to abdominal pressure but that when it does, you won’t be able to feel it — tree falls in the forest-style. However, when the thing exerting the pressure is a goo-covered camera wand you can totally spy on creature movements! As soon as the baby became visible on the screen it was obvious it was partying. He/she was lying on the floor of the sac moving its arms and legs in a bicycle motion and when it noticed we were all staring and chuckling, quickly rolled over to face the screen. Head-on, it don’t look like that much – a big head with a ‘casper the friendly ghost’ body, but that’s when the doc chose to freeze the frame and print the picture.

The doc also asked when my genetic tests were going down and I said that I cancelled them. The more I read about them online, the more I realized how unlikely a candidate I was and how creepy they made me feel. Maybe if I was over 35/ had pounded some Accutane recently / been subjected to Gamma rays / was related to my husband, I would reconsider. Anyway, the doc seemed a bit offended as I seemed to imply it was an insurance scam, stating that, “It IS real science.”

Seeing my baby on screen, throwing down, is all the science I really need at this point in my life so the hospital dudes will just have to find another frantic wreck to poke and prod.

Leave a Reply

